EU Community Initiative
Alpine Space Programme
ProgrammeProjectsContacts DownloadsImprint......
Cooperation Area



The Cooperation Area

click to enlarge

Interreg III is a Community Initiative which aimed to stimulate interregional co-operation in EU between 2000 and 2006. It has been financed under the European Regional Development Fund (ERDF).


This new phase of the Interreg initiative aimed at strengthening economic and social cohesion throughout the EU, by fostering the balanced development of the continent through cross-border, transnational and interregional cooperation. A special emphasis has been placed on integrating remote regions and those which share external borders with the candidate Countries.


The Alpine Space, as an important transnational European co-operation area, comprises the mountainous area in the geographical sense as well as the surrounding foothills and lowlands, a small part of the Mediterranean coastal area including the Adriatic, parts of the great river valleys of Danube, Po, Adige, Rhône and Rhine.

The mountainous "core area" is spatially inseparably linked with the surrounding "peri-alpine belt", containing some of the most attractive European metropolitan areas.

The Programme Partners

The Alpine Space Programme under INTERREG III B covers the entire Western, Eastern, Northern and Southern Alps including the foothills, the lowlands and the coasts around the Alps. The participating Member States and regions on the basis of NUTS II classification are:


Austria: (whole country).


France: Rhône-Alpes, Provence-Alpes-Côte d'Azur, Franche-Comté, Alsace.


Germany: districts of Upper Bavaria and Swabia (in Bavaria), Tübingen and Freiburg (in Baden-Württemberg).


Italy: Lombardia, Friuli-Venezia Giulia, Veneto, Trentino - Alto Adige, Valle d'Aosta, Piemonte, Liguria.


Slovenia (whole country).


In order to add further value to the programme, the Member States co-operate with the following non-EU Member States, who are full partners:


Liechtenstein (whole country).


Switzerland (whole country).

made by
© 2001-2006 INTERREG IIIB Alpine Space Programme
Community Initiative Programme funded by the European Regional Development Fund